Universitas Padjadjaran’s Faculty of Communication Sciences has been established since 18 September 1960. The faculty was initiated by several mass media observers in Bandung by the name of “Fakultas Djurnalistik dan Publisistik”. By the year of 1965, the faculty’s name was changed into “Institut Publisistik”. Not long after, at the same year, the faculty changed its name again into “Fakultas Publisistik”. The last change made to the faculty’s name was in 1982 when it was changed into “Fakultas Ilmu Komunikasi”.

The Communication Management Study Program has been conducting lectures and managing students as a department or field of concentration in the Communication Studies Study Program since April 1, 1964 under the name of the :Jurusan Penerangan” which in 1994 changed its name to the Department of Communication Management.

On May 7, 2014, Communication Management officially became a study program. Three years later, in the accreditation period of 2017-2022 , we managed to achieve accreditation with an A rating from the National Accreditation Board for Higher Education (BAN PT) of the Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education (Kemristekdikti) as evidenced by Decree No. 0897/SK/BAN-PT/Akred/S/III/2017.